Lost

--

Photograph by Jonathan VanAntwerpen of Redwood Trees in the Santa Cruz Mountains.
California Redwoods, July 3, 2014 | Photo: Jonathan VanAntwerpen

“Somebody once said to me that in relation to religion that I come across like I’m totally lost. And I took it as a deep compliment. I was delighted, because I have no interest in being found. ‘I once was lost, but now I’m found’ is a phrase that echoes throughout so much hymnody in the Christianities of the world. And I sometimes have deep suspicion of the idea of being found, because I am interested, perhaps artistically, in the idea about what happens when you know you’re not found. What do you begin to observe?”

Pádraig Ó Tuama on David Wagoner’s “Lost

--

--

Jonathan VanAntwerpen

Jonathan VanAntwerpen is a program director at the Henry Luce Foundation. Originally trained as a philosopher, he holds a Ph.D. in sociology from UC-Berkeley.